Athleta Iron Girl 5K

Charissa and I after running our first 5k

It was a gorgeous, perfect morning in Seattle and I had a head cold.

It was a gorgeous, perfect morning in Seattle and I ran my first 5k!

– 39:04 was my finishing time –

I’d like to say that I ran the whole thing without any walking breaks but I did walk when I felt I needed to and really did try to push myself to finish strong. I didn’t really have a specific time goal set but was hoping I’d be able to do it in under 40 minutes. I ran the whole first mile with Charissa (David’s sister), during mile two Charissa kept running while I took small walking breaks. That second mile felt like it was forever and was so glad when I saw the mile 2 marker. By the time I got to Mile 3 I was glad that I was only running the 5k because I don’t think that I would have been able to do another loop around the lake.

It was such an awesome experience and I am so glad that I was able to be a part of that race. David, Charissa and I are most likely going to competing in a race the first part of October and even though I thought at times that running really sucks during this 5k, I am starting to get really excited to sign up for the PACE Race! I’ve even outlined a short three week 5k running program that I am going to try to stick to now that I have a time to try to beat.

I basically found a 10k program in a new weight lifting book (this book is AWESOME by the way!) I recently purchased and cut the running times in half for the first three weeks.

I’m pretty excited to do another race soon!

2 thoughts on “Athleta Iron Girl 5K

  1. C. says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

